The Phoenix Is Rising

Hi folks!
Two postings in one week, oh my! I’m on fire eh?

First off, I’d like to say thanks to all my readers – thanks to you (and my awesome writing abilities) I’m going to be featured on The Printed Blog!

Next, I’ve got a confession to make. Many of you know that in 2006 I started down a long and bumpy road that I called Magnanimous. It was supposed to be my next startup, my next obsession, and the tech world’s “Next Big Thing.” Magnanimous proposed to deliver the best of the Internet – movies, music, photos, podcasts, and even television channels, to your television, without those pesky Microsoft and Adobe “Update Enforcers” raining on your parade. Well, things went awry and I had to put it on the back burner. (It was for the better – I wasn’t quite ready for its implications and requirements.) But it never ceased to be my obsession…

So, armed with the knowledge of where the Internet TV market is headed and what it’s doing right & wrong, I give to you… The Executive Summary from my newest business plan… Project Phoenix.

Feel free to contact me if you have any questions or would like to be counted in on the mailing list!

-=applause=-

Executive Summary

I still can’t believe it. It’s been several years since the advent of Internet-based video, and we’re still watching it at our computers. The TV, computer, music, and movie industries are at the cusp of something, and nobody’s got any answers. We’ve got great big HD screens, connected to $100-per-month cable boxes, yet we crowd around the 15” computer screen in the den when we want to share our photo collection or YouTube favorites.

The closest anyone’s come to Internet-based media in the living room is a PC with a keyboard and mouse rigged up to the television. A few attempts have been made to capture it in an appliance, but feature-limited, closed-platform devices have been the only result.

Sprint, AT&T and the like advertise devices that allow you to enjoy Facebook, email, music, and more in the palm of your hand. That still leaves something to be desired in the living room.

Enter Project Phoenix. Originally conceived in 2006 when I foresaw a demand for a living room media appliance, it’s even more relevant now that a large portion of media content has moved to the Internet. A combination of sleek hardware, powerful software, and an organic business model are going to make this thing a hit.

Connect it to your Internet connection and any television. Your content is now unchained. Unchained from the Cloud, from DRM, and from your 15” laptop screen. Enjoy.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

